The Library policies have been established to maintain an environment conducive for study. The Medical Library (ML) is an academic unit of the Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine (HWCOM) and is not a unit of the FIU Libraries. Problems, issues, concerns, or compliments regarding ML services should be brought to the attention of the medical librarians in GL 323 or to the HWCOM Executive Associate Dean for Academic Affairs.
Persons unwilling to abide by the policies of the FIU Libraries will asked to leave the facilities. Refusal to do so may result in forced removal. Students could be liable for disciplinary action as established by FIU. The library reserves the right to ask anyone to leave who is disrupting the study atmosphere of the library or the work of other library users. Disruptive behavior includes, but is not limited to: creating excessive noise, harassment of others, odor constituting a nuisance or health and safety concern, and behavior that disturbs users or staff and interferes with the use of the facility. Please report disruptive behavior to the Help Desk or GL 323.
Mission / Vision
Circulation & Borrowing
Computers, Printers, and Photocopiers
Copyright & Licensing
Food, Drink, and Smoking
Gifts & Donation
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Patrons with Disabilities
Reference/Research Assistance & Tutorials
Mission. By providing an environment enhanced by diversity, clinical innovation and research, Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine prepares socially accountable, community-based physicians, scientists, and health professionals who are uniquely qualified to transform the health of patients and communities.
Vision. Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine is a national leader in transforming the health of communities through its purposeful integration of education, research and clinical care.
Values. The conduct, ideals, and ethics that drive our operations:
The OneCard is required in order to check out library materials.
Item Loan Period Renewals
General Book Collection 2 weeks 2 weeks*
Course Reserve Materials 2 hours 2 hours*
Laptops, eReaders and Accessories 2 weeks 2 weeks*
Reference Materials (in-library use only) N/A N/A
Returning & Renewing Materials
Fees and Other Charges Owed to the Medical Library
Patrons are responsible for any loss or damages of the borrowed library materials.
The Library is not authorized to issue override requests for fines and other money owed to the Library. Library accounts must be settled before registering for classes, obtaining transcripts, etc.
Payment must be made to the University Cashier's Office in the SASC Building on the Modesto A. Maidique Campus or to the University Cashier's Office in the Academic-One Building on the Biscayne Bay Campus. Call 305-348-1466 or 305-348-9022 to determine the fines to be paid. The Medical Library as well as any of FIU Libraries do not accept payment in the library for overdue fines or replacement charges.
Payment by check is to be mailed to:
FIU Cashier's Office
Florida International University
11200 SW 8th Street, SASC-101,
Miami, FL 33199
Please be assured that your patron record, which contains personal information and a record of all materials currently checked out, is confidential.
The Medical Library (the Library) at Florida International University is the primary source of biomedical information for Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine (HWCOM) faculty, students, and staff.
To support its mission, the Library collects materials central to medicine, health care, and basic life sciences as well as some materials in other relevant areas. Materials selected are written for the medical professionals, researchers or for the scholarly audience in English language only. In general, materials are acquired without regard for geographic considerations, though the focus generally address the USA audience. Materials of local interest, such as those related to public health in Florida or tropical medicine may be acquired more comprehensively. The Library gives strong priority to the acquisition of resources in electronic format.
The Library is part of a network of several the Florida International University Libraries (the FIU Libraries) and shares resources with those libraries. In effort to avoid duplication of expensive resources, the Library does not acquire materials available at those libraries unless it is absolutely necessary. The Library is also a member of the Consortium of Southern Biomedical Libraries (CONBLS), the Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative, the Florida Collaboration of Academic Libraries of Medicine Collaboration (FCALM), and the South Florida Health Sciences Library Consortium (SFHSLC) that allow to acquire discounts for select databases and free reciprocal interlibrary loans.
The purpose of this Collection Development Policy is to provide guidelines for building and maintaining a collection of information resources: electronic, print and audiovisual to meet the biomedical information needs of the HWCOM. The Library is committed to continue evaluation and revision of its collection and expand the policy as necessary. The Collection Development Policy has been written by the Head, Knowledge Resource Development Librarian and reviewed by the Director of the Library in 2009.
The Library will select resources in direct support of HWCOM goals and based on courses requirements as well as faculty, library staff, and students’ recommendations. Suggestions for acquisitions can be make via electronic form at http://medlib-fiu.libsurveys.com/loader.php?id=88ea4e06e6101774a6790546e6337315 , email firstname.lastname@example.org or phone 305-348-0643 to Knowledge Resource Development Librarian.
The following evaluation issues are considered before adding resources:
Tools for Selection
Multiple Formats and Copies
In general, the Library acquires material in one format only (except required textbooks), preferably electronic. If resource is not available electronically, the Library acquires one print copy unless there is necessity to acquire additional copy and funding is available.
Retention an Renewal
In addition to considering each factor in the SELECTION CRITERIA section, the Library also analyzes usage statistics to determine if the use of a resource justifies its continued maintenance and accessibility. The following criteria are considered:
The Library adheres to the following definitions and expectations regarding licensing:
Through the delegation from the FIU Office of the General Council, the Dean of the HWCOM and Senior Vice President of Health Affairs has the authority to approve and execute all license agreements that don’t exceed $500,000.
Responsibility Related to Library Resources
Evaluation, Selection, Acquisition, and Renewal
Selection is made on faculty, students, and library staff recommendations with JCR Rank and Doody’s Core Titles in the Health Sciences consult. The whole process is coordinated by the Knowledge Resource Development Librarian with advice of the Library Advisory Committee. Usage statistics of electronic resources serve as an important de-selection tool.
Presentation and Management of E-resources
All e-Resources are grouped as databases, e-books, and e-journals on the Medical Library web site at https://medlib.fiu.edu. All materials except of databases are cataloged in the FIU Libraries online catalog.
Publicity and Marketing
Knowledge Resource Development and Digital Learning & Information Technology Librarians manage publicity and marketing via e-mail, library news, and the Medical Library web site.
Donations of last edition of textbooks or unique and valuable materials compatible with the goals and purpose of the Library’s collections are welcomed, though the Library reserves the right to limit such gifts to those which substantially benefit the Library and are cost effective to acquire, catalog, process, maintain, and preserve. The Library assumes ownership of all donations and reserves the right to add donated materials to its collections, and to exchange, or discard them as appropriate. Appraisal and documentation of materials for tax purposes is generally the responsibility of the donor.
Implementation and Review
This policy will be revised as appropriate to reflect changes in the emerging and constantly changing electronic information environment.
Fire drill evacuations are mandatory. All patrons are expected to adhere to public safety announcements and evacuate the medical library immediately. Do not leave personal belongings unattended at any time; including emergency evacuations. Persons who abuse this policy will be reported to the HWCOM Office of Student Affairs.
The Medical Library (ML) is located on the third floor of the Green Library, in GL 380, on the Modesto A. Maidique Campus. The ML administrative offices are located next to the elevators on the 3rd floor of the Green Library in GL 323.
The ML follows the policies of the university. ML offers ample study space, computer workstations, wireless connection, and a wide variety of library services including copying, printing, interlibrary loan, reference services, and individual assistance in using databases and other virtual resources. The ML Help Desk is staffed by library assistants who are knowledgeable about access and use of the library's digital resources. Library assistants can troubleshoot library computers and printers, and are prepared to assist students on request.
The ML prohibits misusing furniture or the facility.
Printing and Scanning
A copy machine with printing and scanning functions is available for use in the ML. Other copy machines are located throughout the FIU Green Library and in AHC 2. Use of these machines requires purchase of a copy card and incurs a per-page charge. Students can see a ML Help Desk staff member for more information.
Computer and Internet Access
Wireless access is available throughout the ML and the FIU Green Library. A number of computer workstations are available for use in the ML. Students needing workstations for educational purposes have priority. No personal files should be saved on the library's public access computers; files saved on the library computers will be erased automatically. Files may be saved to flash drives.
Loitering, Soliciting, and Advertising
Loitering, Soliciting for donations, or accosting patrons or staff for any purpose is prohibited. Non-FIU advertising material may not be displayed or distributed without permission from library administration. No materials may be affixed to library interior or exterior walls without permission from library administration.
Any person wishing to bring a group of people into the library must obtain prior permission from the appropriate department. Persons unwilling to abide by this policy will be asked to leave the facility. Refusal to do so may result in forced removal. Students could be liable for disciplinary action as established by FIU.
Presence in Library When Library is Not Open
Library users may not remain in the library when it is closed.
There are two small rooms at the back of the library:
Course Reserves Materials
Other (CD-ROMs & DVDs)
Dedicated and experienced librarians are available weekdays to assist students who have reference questions or need help with research. Librarians also provide hands-on database to individuals and small groups. Supplemental tutorials are available on the ML website (Research & Resources tab). Librarians may be reached at the ML offices on the 3rd floor of the Green Library (GL 323) or by request at the ML Help Desk.