Skip to main content

Point-of-Care Resources: Home

Clinician Resources Guide

Clinicians

Type of Resource (area of strength) Mobile App

Guidelines/

Recommendations

Indicates Levels

of Evidence

Images Patient Education Earn CME
Accessss federated searching
ClinicalKey quick reference
Cochrane Library evidence summaries
DynaMed Plus quick reference
EBMCalc (via Stat!Ref) computerized decision support
JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) evidence summaries
Medscape Reference quick reference
Micromedex drug reference
Stat!Ref (non-subscription) computerized decision support
TRIP Medical Database (non-subscription) federated searching
UpToDate (restricted to HWCOM users) quick reference
VisualDx computerized decision support

Popular Point-of-Care Tool Comparisons

DynaMed UpToDate
DynaMed Content (link to their website)

(numbers compiled by the Medical Library. N/A means unavailable)

  • 23 Specialties covered in depth
  • 3,400+ Clinical Topics
  • N/A - Graded recommendations
  • N/A - Unique drug entries
  • N/A - Patient information topics 
  • 4,000+ Medical Graphics
  • 500+ Medical Calculators‚Äč
Facts at a Glance (link to their website)

(abbreviated version)

  • 25 Specialties covered in depth 
  • 11,600+ Clinical topics across 25 specialties
  • 9,500+ Graded recommendations
  • 6,300+ Unique drug entries
  • 1,500+ Patient information topics 
  • 34,000+ Graphics (tables, images, figures)
  • 185+ Medical calculators
  • Video Tutorial (need link)
  • Video Tutorial (need link)

Synthesized Recommendation Grading System for DynaMed Plus:

(abbreviated version below)

  • Evidence-based Methodology: DynaMed Plus systematically monitors clinical evidence to continuously provide a synthesis of the most valid relevant evidence to support clinical decision-making
  • Overview and Recommendations: DynaMed Plus... [synthesizes] the current evidence, current guidelines from leading authorities, and clinical expertise to provide recommendations to support clinical decision-making in the Overview & Recommendations section.
  • Grading Process: uses the Grading of Recommendations Assessement and Evaluation System [GRADE system] to classify synthesized recommendations as Strong or Weak.

UpToDate Editorial Policy

(taken from multiple pages in the Editorial Section of the website)

  • Evidence-Based Methodology: UpToDate has a systematic and transparent editorial policy for identifying, reviewing and synthesizing clinical evidence as it applies to a clinical question.
  • Overview and Recommendations: each topic is assigned an author (a subject matter expert) and at least two separate physician reviewers. This group works together to perform a comprehensive review of the literature, culminating in clear recommendations for treatment and screening which allow clinicians to improve care. 
  • Grading Process: graded recommendations appear in the Summary and Recommendations sections at the end of topics. UpToDate uses the GRADE system. Grades have two components, a number (1 or 2) reflecting the strength of the recommendation and a letter (A, B, or C) reflecting the quality of the evidence supporting that recommendation.

 
ClinicalKey's Point-of-Care Content

Highlighted Content (link to their website):

  • 1,400+ Topic Pages: Quick clinical answers and summaries from Conn’s Current Therapy, Goldman’s Cecil Medicine, Ferri’s Clinical Advisor and First Consult
  • 4,500+ Practice Guidelines: Full-text practice guidelines from journals, links to full-text guidelines from professional and government agencies (including Australian and New Zealand), and summaries from the National Guideline Clearinghouse
  • 850+ First Consult Monographs: Succinct, trusted clinical answers for clinicians at the point of care
  • 300+ Procedures Consult Videos and Articles: Step-by-step procedural videos and articles to teach techniques or simply help clinicians refresh their skills
  • 50+ Clinics: Full-text medical and surgical clinical review articles
  • 1,100+ AMH Drug Monographs: All Australian Medicines Handbook drug monographs
  • 15,000+ Customisable Patient Education Handouts: ‚ÄčEducational handouts that can incorporate institutional branding and special instructions, as well as the patient's preferred language and text size
  • 1,200 Books: Elsevier’s world-renowned medical and surgical books, including Gray’s Anatomy, Goldman’s Cecil Medicine, Braunwald’s Heart Disease, Clinical Examination and more
  • 650+ Journals: More than 600 top journals from Elsevier, including The Lancet, Heart, Lung and Circulation, Obesity Research and Clinical Practice and Journal of the American College of Cardiology
  • 33,000 Medical and Surgical Videos: A continuously updated library of searchable video content
  • 3,000,000+ Images: A continuously updated library of searchable images from trusted books and journals
AccessMedicine's Poinr-of-Care Content

Components of the App (link to their website)

  • Quick Medical Dx & Rx is a collection evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice.
  • Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology facilitates dermatologic diagnosis with color images of skin conditions.
  • Differential Diagnosis Tool allows you to browse 1,000 diagnoses by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
  • Diagnostic Tests aids in the selection and interpretation of commonly used tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.
Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Medical Library
305 348-1466 (phone)
305 348-0631 (fax)
11200 SW 8th Street, GL 380
Miami, FL 33199