Skip to main content

Where to Start: Resources

Need your FIU One Card? Visit the FIU One Card office located on the first floor of the Gold Garage at the Modesto A. Maidique Campus.  Visit the One Card site for more information.

The Medical Library is located on the 3rd floor, Room GL 380, inside the Green Library.  The Green Library entrance and exit are situated on the 2nd floor and visitors need to scan their FIU One Card to enter or exit the facility.  Persons not affiliated with FIU must register with the Guest Services attendant for entry card with barcode. A valid government issued photo ID will be required to register. Non-FIU affiliated visitors will be given access for a limited length of time after which they will be required to re-register.

Entrance to the Medical Library is available to those affiliated with HWCOM and requires to swipe their FIU One Card.  Individuals not affiliated with HWCOM can enter the Medical Library, Monday – Friday 10 am – 5 pm, by ringing the doorbell by entrance door.

Library address and directions are located on our About Us page.

  • Students, Faculty, & Staff: the library account is created at the time of your FIU enrollment/appointment.
  • Community-based faculty and FIU affiliated medical residents: please contact the FIU College of Medicine Human Resources Department at 305-348-0621 or comhr@fiu.edu.

Accessing our resources off-campus?  Click here to authenticate.  Here is a short video discussing off-campus authentication and steps needed: https://youtu.be/N0pz3srQm4w 

Need full-text of an article or request a book not owned by FIU?  Make sure to create your ILLIAD account for interlibrary loan requests.  Choose department 'Medical' when creating your account.

In need of literature search assistance or additional research help? Contact Francisco Fajardo (ffajardo@fiu.edu, 305-348-1464) or Rebecca Roth (rroth@fiu.edu, 305-348-0680).

Check out available medical apps for your devices at the Mobile Resources guide.  Find a list of apps and how to install them.  Contact Jorge Perez if you need mobile resources assistance at 305-348-1471 or jorperez@fiu.edu.

Would you like to make a recommendation for the Medical Library's collection? Fill out the Purchase Recommendation Form.

Loading ...
Recommended Databases

Medical Education Resources

Database Comparison

Below are time-saving resources like re-usable case scenarios, videos, and images that instructors can use in their lectures.

 

Pre-Made Case Scenarios

The following resources provide instructors with re-usable case studies you can use in your lectures.

 

Exportable Images

Easily export images from these databases.  Many of these resources will generate an automatic attribution for you to include in your PowerPoint slides or wherever you make these images available.

 

Embedable Videos
Take segments of videos and embed them in your PowerPoints or Canvas Sites.

 

Test Banks

 

Re-Usable Education Material
Browse instructional material created and shared by instructors in universities across the country.

 

Shared Ideas about Medical Education

Read what other educators are writing about best practices and ideas in medical education,

Researcher Resources

Database Comparison

You don't have to be a seasoned researcher to use the following resources.  Here are bibliographic databases we recommend for anyone (students included) performing a literature review. Hover over the info icon to learn how many records these databases allow you to search.

 

Premier Bibliographic Databases

 

Federated Searching (searches across multiple databases simultaneously)

 

Evidence-Based

 

Measurement Tools and Instruments

 

Alternative Medicine

 

Additional Databases via EBSCOhost (subscribed to via the Green Library)

Clinician Resources

Database Comparison

Here are some powerful Point-of-Care tools that anyone (including 3rd and 4th year clerking students, FIU affiliated residents, College of Medicine faculty, and Community-Based Faculty) can use in the clinic or at the bedside. Hover over the info icons to get a sense of each resource's size and scope.

 

​Mobile Point of Care Reference

 

Drug Reference

 

Health Calculators

 

​Patient Education

 

Simultaneous Database Searching at the Point of Care

Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Medical Library
305 348-1466 (phone)
305 348-0631 (fax)
11200 SW 8th Street, GL 380
Miami, FL 33199