Skip to main content

Searching Medical Education Literature: Databases & Literature Search Request Form

This guide is designed to give you a basic overview of searching the top databases for education literature, a list of keywords and MeSH terms, as well as case findings.

List of Databases

PubMed- PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

EMBASE- With extensive international journal and conference coverage, Embase is a key resource for generating systematic reviews, supporting effective evidence-based medicine and drug and medical device tracking. Embase facilitates the clinical decision-making process and allows you to get to market faster, while still ensuring the required drug safety and pharmacovigilance.

CINAHL- CINAHL Plus provides a wide scope of nursing and allied health journals, as well as a high number of records, full-text and cited references. Content includes allied health literature and biomedical resources and records date back to 1937. In addition, CINAHL Plus provides Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline treatment options.

MEDLINE- Covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences, containing bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals. International scholarly journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Also includes OLDMEDLINE, National Library of Medicine's online database of approximately 1,700,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1948 through 1965. *Also available from FirstSearch and Ovid

Web of Science -Indexes 8,700+ multidisciplinary scholarly journals and other publications in the life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and humanities, with cited references; Web of Science gives access to the ISI Citation Databases, this is the online equivalent of Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Art & Humanities Citation Index.

PsycINFO -PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

ERIC -Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources; This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index; Indexes scholarly and trade journals as well as unpublished documents in all aspects of education; Coverage starts 1966.  ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement. ERIC is the largest education database in the world—containing over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. *Also available from EBSCOHost, FirstSearch, and ProQuest.

Literature Search Form

Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Medical Library
305 348-1466 (phone)
305 348-0631 (fax)
11200 SW 8th Street, GL 380
Miami, FL 33199