Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Medical Library
Point-of-Care Apps (Library Subscription)
These are the mobile app versions of the online of the most popular point-of-care resources that the library pays for. Links to the website versions are in our Medical Databases A-Z List.
DynaMed (Mobile App)
[Click for Set-Up Instructions]
or see menu tab above. [Click to read about DynaMed's Content Coverage]
. Use this to find quick answers to clinical questions. Search through/browse among thousands of topic overviews, summaries, and recommendations, with links to supporting literature. In-depth coverage of 23 Specialties; 3,400+ Clinical Topics; 4,000+ Medical Graphics; 500+ Medical Calculators.
ClinicalKey (Mobile App)
[Click for Set-Up Instructions] or see menu tab above. [Click to view Facts and Figures about ClinicalKey's content]
. Use this to find quick answers to clinical questions among thousands of First Consult/Clinical Overviews, drug monographs, and guidelines. Also access the journal articles, books, images, and other content types in our online ClinkcalKey subscription. 1,400+ Clinical Topics; 4,500+ Practice Guidelines, 3,000,000+ Medical Graphics.
UpToDate (Mobile App)
[Click for Set-Up Instructions] or see menu tab above
. [Click to view Facts and Figures about UpToDate's content]
. Please note that use of this resource from off-campus is limited to Medical students, Physician Assistant students, and full-time HWCOM faculty.
. Use this to find quick answers to clinical questions. The highly popular point-of-care apps contains thousands of topic overviews, summaries, and recommendations, with links to supporting literature. In-depth coverage of 25 Specialties; 11,000+ Clinical Topics; 9,500+ Graded Recommendations; 185+ Medical Calculators; 34,000+ Medical Graphics.
Free on Non-Premium Point-of-Care Apps
These resources are free to anyone on the Web.
Medscape (Free Mobile App)
Medscape is a website providing access to medical information for clinicians; the organization also provides continuing education for physicians and health professionals. It references medical journal articles, CME, a version of the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database, medical news, and drug information. NOTE: MedScape is created by a for-profit company that relies on advertising revenue in order to produce its free content.
Epocrates (Non-Premium Version) (Free Mobile App)
This is the non-subscription version. Epocrates provides clinical reference information on drugs, diseases, diagnostics and patient management. This is the free version of the mobile app. There is a premium version of the online resource and corresponding app, but the library does not pay for it. NOTE: Epocrates was acquired by private company that produce healthcare and hospital software.
Stat!Ref (Non-Premium Version) (Free Mobile App)
This is the non-subscription version. It provides provides users access to EBMCalc (with thousands of equations, decision trees, calculators, and converters); the most recent version of the AAFP Conditions A-Z; and textbooks about infections diseases and cultural competence in healthcare. To use the app, you must create an account via the online website which you can find on the Medical Library's A-Z Database list.
Free Consumer Health Mobile App Libraries
The government provides a variety of free apps supplying consumer health, public safety, scientific, and clinical information. Click on these links to view galleries of these apps.
The Centers for Disease Control's (CDC) Library of Free Mobile Apps
The CDC is a federal agency that conducts and supports health promotion, prevention, and preparedness activities. Click on this link to see its gallery of free apps. Apps include information for physicians, dentists, health inspectors, nutrition advice, health literacy, heat safety, concussion identification, substance abuse, STDs, sexual education, and more.
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Library of Free Mobile Apps
Part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), NLM provides free mobile apps dealing with consumer health information about HIV and AIDS, Drug information, toxicology information, historic medical texts, and even a wireless system for emergency responders (WISER).
Other Medical Apps (Library Subscription)
These are mobile app versions of some other useful medical online resources that the library pays for. Links to the website versions are in our Medical Databases A-Z List.
AccessMedicine (Mobile App)
Includes concise outlines of conditions and disorders, a differential diagnosis tool, diagnostics, and a color atlas of clinical dermatology. We have more content from this product when you access the full resources through the Medical Library website. McGraw-Hill Medical provides some of its website's content here in app form.
Aquifer Clinical Learning (Mobile App)
The companion app to the Medical Library website's subscription to Aquifer Online. A growing compendium of online educational programs—including over 150 continually updated virtual patient cases, teaching resources and assessment tools.
E-Journal Reader Apps
Use Browzine to read almost any journal paid for by the library.
Browzine App (Mobile App) eJournal Reader
Mobile tablet app available for iPad, Android tablets, and Kindle Fire. Allows you to browse nearly the entire FIU Library online collection of subscription-based periodicals (journals) by subject area or title, create virtual bookshelves, and read/save content; Download the app and login with your FIU Library credentials to gain access. Set-up instructions forthcoming.
NEJM iPad Edition (Mobile App)
Sign up for an NEJM account through our online library subscription
and you can use this app to read the latest issues (available every Thursday) and previous issues. Bookmark, notate and share articles as well as view educational videos, tables, figures, and images. Currently only available for iPads.
Read by QxMD (Free Mobile App)
Download the app and register with our institution and you will be able to read select journals from our library collection.
These resources are free to anyone on the Web.
Calculate by QxMD (Free Mobile App)
This free resource contains hundreds of decision support tools and medical calculators. DISCLAIMER: all content and tools are for educational use only, are not meant to be a substitute for professional advice and should not be used for medical diagnosis and/or medical treatment.
PDR (Free Mobile App)
PDR by ConnectRx was once the Physicians Desk Reference (since renamed PDR.net). It works with biopharmaceutical manufacturers to help commercialize and maximize the benefits of branded and specialty medications.
Other Free Consumer Health Apps
These consumer health apps come from companies and healthcare systems.
GoodRx (Free Mobile App)
GoodRx is a website and mobile app that tracks prescription drug prices and offers drug coupons in the United States. GoodRx checks more than 75,000 pharmacies in the United States. It has partnerships with major prescription drug companies in the country to negotiate lower prescription drug costs.
The Mayo Clinic's Library of Free Mobile Apps
Note: The Mayo Clinic is one of the largest not‐for‐profit, academic health systems in the U.S. It does, however, rely on Web advertising to help support the creation of its consumer health mobile apps.
WebMD (Free Mobile App)
Note: WebMD is created by a for-profit company that relies on advertising revenue in order to produce its free content.
305 348-1466 (phone)
305 348-0631 (fax)
11200 SW 8th Street, GL 380
Miami, FL 33199