Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Medical Library
Federated Databases (Search Multiple Databases Simultaneously)
Trip (Turning Research Into Practice) This link opens in a new window
Trip (Turning Research into Practice) is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Trip searches across hundreds of resources and categorizes its results as either secondary vidence (systematic reviews, evidence-based synopses, clinical guidelines, and regulatory guidance) or primary research. It also maps them to more granular levels of the EBM pyramid.
Accessss This link opens in a new window
ACCESSSS is a service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications). Searching ACCESSSS yields content that is hierarchically organized: Always look first at the content available at the highest level of the hierarchy, as it is most likely to be useful for clinical purposes. Evidence at all levels of the pyramid has been pre-appraised for scientific merit and clinical relevance. The levels of the pyramid reflect the extent to which the evidence has been integrated into the context of decisions for clinical care, with the most integration at the top.
Recommended Databases (Search Individual Databases)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A premier biomedical databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (the world's largest medical library). PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Indexes thousands of books, journals, and other types of publications.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
With extensive international journal and conference coverage, Embase is a key resource for generating systematic reviews, supporting effective evidence-based medicine and drug and medical device tracking. Embase facilitates the clinical decision-making process and allows you to get to market faster, while still ensuring the required drug safety and pharmacovigilance.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
Consists of more than 6 million records, 70 full-text journals, and indexes nearly 5,500 journals covering nursing and allied health journals, as well as literature in biomedicine and healthcare. Started in the 1940s, the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) was acquired by EBSCO company from its original publisher in 2003. Thus it is searchable to FIU users via the EBSCOhost platform.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes 8,700+ multidisciplinary scholarly journals and other publications in the life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and humanities, with cited references; Web of Science gives access to the ISI Citation Databases, this is the online equivalent of Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Art & Humanities Citation Index.
305 348-1466 (phone)
305 348-0631 (fax)
11200 SW 8th Street, GL 380
Miami, FL 33199