Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Managers Comparison

The Basics

Endnote

Mendeley

RefWorks

Zotero 

Price

Free to FIU users (download from PantherTech) Free Free to FIU users Free
Online Version
Desktop Version No

Add and Search Notes

Tagging No
Eliminate Duplicates
Collaborate

Online (with anyone)

Desktop (with other EndNote users)

With anyone With other RefWorks users With anyone

Social Networking

No No
PDF Handling More details below More details below More details below More details below
Cite While You Write More details below Need desktop version. More details below. Need desktop version. More details below. Need desktop version. More details below.

Adding References

 

EndNote

Mendeley

RefWorks

Zotero  

Browser Citation Capture Tool: use this to send the the metadata (citation information) of an item or items you are viewing to your library. the technology that enables this is undergoing transition single or multiple items single or multiple items single or multiple items
Direct Export: directly send results from your database search to your citation manager some databases many databases some databases many databases
Indirect Export: occurs when you download your selected results as a list of marked up text in a machine-readable file and upload it into your citation manager to populate as distinct references.
From Saved PDF: automatically create references for PDFs already saved on your computer.

 

Cite While You Write

 

Endnote

Mendeley

RefWorks

Zotero  

Create a One-Off Bibliography. Unlike when you use the Microsoft Word or Google Docs integration (see below), once you generate this bibliography, edits between your document and references will not update.
Microsoft Word: connect the citation manager to Microsoft Word so that can automatically generate your in-text citations and list of references as you write. Your citation manager and Word document will remain connected (meaning edits you make to the reference in the citation manger will update in the Word document) until you break the connection.
Google Docs: connect the citation manager to Google Docs so that can automatically generate your in-text citations and list of references as you write. Your citation manager and Google Doc will remain connected (meaning edits you make to the reference in the citation manger will update in the Google document) until you break the connection. Partial Partial Full Full
Citation Styles: change between citation styles (ex. APA, AMA, MLA) with the click of a button.

 

Full Text and PDF Handling

 

Endnote

Mendeley

RefWorks

Zotero

Link Out to Full Text: include hyperlinks (URLs, DOIs, and/or "Find It @ FIU" buttons) to link out to the full text on the web.        
Attach PDFs to the references already in your library.
Read and annotate the PDFs from within the program's own PDF viewer. No (it will open in your computer's default PDF viewer)

Generate a reference from a PDF already saved on your computer. A reference will be created based on the metadata it can extract, and the PDF will be attached.

✓ (File > Import) ✓ (click and drag) ✓ (click and drag) ✓ (click and drag)

Automatically download the PDF (if available) in addition to the item's citation metadata when you are using the capture citation metadata function.

No No No
Harvest PDFs from the Web (for citations that are already in your library). The PDF will download and automatically attach to your reference. (This only works the item is from a publication that is free or to which the FIU Libraries subscribe.)

Called "Find Full Text" (can be done in bulk).

No No ✓ Called "Find Available PDF" (must be done one article at a time)
Search your own notes that you have left yourself inside the PDFs It depends on your computer's PDF viewer

Add and Search Notes

 

EndNote

Mendeley

RefWorks

Zotero  

Add and Search Notes: leave yourself notes in the metadata of your citations (it will be hidden from the citation it outputs for your manuscript).

 

Tagging

Endnote

Mendeley

RefWorks

Zotero

You can tag articles No
tag cloud is created n/a
The citation manager automatically assigns tags (it uses the metadata like keywords that it pulls from the original source of the references) n/a No

You can edit the automatically assigned tags n/a n/a No No
You can delete more than one tag at a time n/a No No No
You can rate articles with stars No No No
Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Medical Library
305 348-1466 (phone)
305 348-0631 (fax)
11200 SW 8th Street, GL 380
Miami, FL 33199