Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Medical Library
Questions to Ask Before You Start
- What are some of the journals within your discipline or specialty? What journals do you regularly read and consult? Where have similar articles like yours appeared?
- Think about your medical specialty's professional association or society. Chances are you will find a journal or publication where you can submit a manuscript. If not, consult your peers or colleagues in the field and ask them for suggestions.
- Consider where the journal is indexed. Will it be discoverable? Do the major databases index this journal? For medical, health, or biomedical literature, check the list Journals Indexed in PubMed. In addition, also consider searching UlrichsWeb: Global Serials Directory where you can find detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (a.k.a. serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, etc.
After You Have Decided on the Journal, Look at Its Website
- Examine its aim, scope, publisher reputation, author information, and types of articles published.
- Consider its peer-review policy and acceptance rate.
- What is its availability? Does the journal require a subscription to read, or is it freely available online?
- Look at the journal's metrics. Although what qualifies as a good impact factor varies by discipline, we provide a list of efforts to rank journals in the "Journal Directories" tab of this guide.
- Review the author guidelines and instructions. Make sure you determine the word count/length, formatting, citation style, and any special instructions on tables/figures/images. It is vital to adhere closely to the these guidelines and specifications. Failing to do so may result in delays or rejection to even review the manuscript.
- Consider who will own the copyright.
As found on January 23 2020 from https://library.uwinnipeg.ca/scholarly-communication/index.html
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
Search over 300,000 periodicals to find individual information about publisher, open-access status, abstracting & indexing coverage, reviews written by librarians, and more.
Journals Indexed by MEDLINE
This is a dynamic list of the slightly over 5,200 journals that have been specially chosen for inclusion and indexing in the MEDLINE database.
Journals Indexed by PubMed
Look up the 30,000 journals that are indexed in PubMed and thus discoverable in a search of this vital database.
PubsHub is a database containing comprehensive details on 4600+ peer-reviewed medical journals and 3500+ academic conferences. For any given journal, you can generate a report that collates information about various impact factors measures, acceptance rates, turn-around times, indexing, types of articles accepted, and much more.
Search over 3,000 journals by Journal Title or ISSN to learn about an individual journal's copyright policy, restrictions, and general conditions.
JANE (Journal / Author Name Estimator)
This site uses algorithms that may help you identify relevant journals to which to submit you manuscripts. Just paste in your abstract and JANE will suggest potential journals or co-authors.
Upon pasting your abstract into the search bar, this data mining tool uses text mining and algorithms to search the PubMed literature database and suggest journal titles to submit your manuscript to.
EndNote Manuscript Matcher
EndNote compares the text in your title, and abstract, plus citations if available, with thousands of journals within the Web of Science Core Collection, Journal Citation Reports, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Text-mining algorithms will provide matching journals like to be interested in papers like yours.
Scholarly Publishing Information Hub (SPI-Hub™) is a decision support journal identification & evaluation tool for prospective authors. It was created by The Center for Knowledge Management at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and is freely available. It facilitates journal discovery by journal, topic, and author search (including the ability to leverage the use of an ORCID profile)
305 348-1466 (phone)
305 348-0631 (fax)
11200 SW 8th Street, GL 380
Miami, FL 33199