Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Medical Library
- Citation Analysis is the examination of citations in scholarly literature in order to determine the impact of an individual researcher, a specific item (i.e. article, book, etc..,), or a particular publication (i.e. journal).
- Scholarly metrics are used to quantitatively measure the impact of a particular author, journal or article. Impact Factors are a type of scholarly metric.
Impact Factor / Journal Impact Factor
- Impact Factor or Journal Impact Factor is a measure of the frequency with which the “average article” published in a given scholarly journal has been cited in a particular year or period of time. It is often used to measure or describe the importance of a particular journal to its field.
- Note: Please note that impact factors are not always the best indicator of a journal's quality or relevance. What constitutes a high score varies between disciplines (This is because writing patterns, citation norms, the pace of research, and the number of people in the field of interest will vary by discipline
Learn More about Citation Analysis
Working Groups / Initiatives
Sources of Impact Factors
Journal Citation Reports (powered by Web of Science data)
(Also known as InCites Journal Citation Reports). Using data from the Web of Science database, this resource calculates journal impact factors by dividing the number of citations in the JCR year by the total number of articles published in the two previous years. Impact factors for the years 2004-2018 are available to be searched. Clarivate Analytics is the company that maintains this tool and the Web of Science database these calculations are based on.
Scimago Journal & Country Rank (powered by Scopus data)
Created by Scimago Lab and using the same technology as the Google PageRank(TM) algorithm, SJR takes citation data Elsevier's Scopus database (over 34,100 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries).
Scopus CiteScore Metrics (powered by Scopus Data)
Using the Elsevier Scopus database, CiteScore calculates the average number of citations received in a calendar year by all items published in that journal in the preceding three years.
Provides a suite of tools and metrics that help researchers trace the impact of their work. Eigenfactors's website provides a searchable database of journal rankings, open access journal cost-effectiveness analyses, individual author "Eigenfactor scores", and article influence scores.
PubsHub is a database containing comprehensive details on 4600+ peer-reviewed medical journals and 3500+ academic conferences. For any given journal, you can generate a report that collates information about various impact factors measures, acceptance rates, turn-around times, indexing, types of articles accepted, and much more.
SciVal (by Elsevier)
[For access click on 'Check Access' button on the top right and search by for FLorida International University and authenticate using your FIU email to gain access] SciVal offers quick, easy access to research performance of more than 19,400 research institutions and their associated researchers from 231 nations worldwide.
Altmetrics are metrics and qualitative data that are complementary to traditional, citation-based metrics. They can include (but are not limited to) peer reviews on Faculty of 1000, citations on Wikipedia and in public policy documents, discussions on research blogs, mainstream media coverage, bookmarks on reference managers like Mendeley, and mentions on social networks such as Twitter.
Mapping Science and Meta-Research
305 348-1466 (phone)
305 348-0631 (fax)
11200 SW 8th Street, GL 380
Miami, FL 33199